Does deleting from Google Photos delete from iPhone?

by Maria Feer

Important: If you back up photos and videos to Google Photos on a mobile device, when you delete them from the Google Photos app, they’re also deleted from your device. Learn how to delete images from the app but not your mobile device. Sign in to your Google Account..

What happens if I delete Google Photos app from my iPhone?

If you use the Google Photos and apps as a gallery app to view your photos and you didn’t enable the Back up and sync setting, then uninstalling it will not have any effect. That is, no photo will be deleted from your phone both on Android and iPhone after removing this apps.

Does Google Photos take up storage on my iPhone?

You will notice that some of the third-party apps that consume space on my iPhone include Google Photos (1.65GB), Words With Friends (1.55GB), Facebook (887MB), Instagram (720.4MB), Google Maps (673.7MB), Spotify (609.3MB) and Gmail (553.4MB).

What happens to my photos if I uninstall Google Photos?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

Do I need both Gallery and Google Photos?

The primary distinction of Google Photos is its backup feature. This ensures you won’t lose important pictures if you misplace your device or upgrade to a new one. While you can use both Google Photos and your built-in gallery app at the same time, you have to choose one as the default.

What is the difference between gallery photos and Google Photos?

Gallery app is a default Android app for managing pictures and videos stored on your phone only. The Photos app, on the other hand, is Google’s image management, sharing, and cloud storage app. It lets you manage images & videos on your device but also store them in your Google account.

Why are my iPhone photos on Google Photos?

If photos are automatically syncing to Google Photos you can stop that by quitting in the Google Backup and Sync app. Click on the app’s icon in the menu bar, click the 3 vertical dots at the top right of its window, click “Quit Backup and Sync.”

Does deleting Google Photos delete iCloud?

If you turn off iCloud before deleting photos from Google Photos on iPhone, then the photo will be removed from your device and Google Photos. It will stay on iCloud. However, if you enable iCloud again on the same phone, the photo will be removed from it too.

How do I stop Google Photos syncing to iCloud? If photos are automatically syncing to Google Photos you can stop that by quitting in the Google Backup and Sync app. Click on the app’s icon in the menu bar, click the 3 vertical dots at the top right of its window, click “Quit Backup and Sync.”

Is Google Photos connected to iCloud?

You can request a copy of your iCloud photos and videos to transfer to Google Photos. Important: The transfer doesn’t remove your photos and videos from iCloud. After the transfer, additional photos and videos stored in iCloud won’t sync to Google Photos automatically.

What happens if I turn off backup and sync on Google Photos?

Toggle off the switch beside Backup and Sync in the new window to disable this feature. Once you do this& Google Photos will stop backing up photos and videos directly.

What is the difference between photos and Google Photos on iPhone?

In a nutshell, you can say Google Photos is a backup and sync service while iCloud Photos only offers sync capability. Meaning, once you delete the photo, it’s removed from everywhere. That’s not the case with Google Photos, where the photos are backed up to the cloud, and you can free up space on your phone.

Can I disable iCloud photos if I have Google Photos?

You can see the progress by tapping on the three lined icon on the top left of the app screen and tapping “Assistant.” Once your photos are all backed up to Google Photos, you can disable the photo backup in iCloud if you want to. To do this, back out to your iPhone’s home screen and tap on the “Settings” app.

How does Google Photos work with iPhone?

To use Google Photos, open the app and tap the three-line menu icon on the top left portion of the screen. Select “Free up space” from the menu. From there, Google Photos detects images and videos saved on your local device that have already been backed up by Google.

What will happen if I uninstall Google Photos? If you use the Google Photos app as a gallery app to view your photos and you didn’t enable the Back up and sync setting, then uninstalling it will not have any effect. That is, no photo will be deleted from your phone both on Android and iPhone after removing the app.

What is the best way to store photos on iPhone? Pick The Best iPhone Photo Storage App For Backing Up Your Images

  1. iCloud Photo Library. Backup photos and access them easily across your Apple devices.
  2. Flickr. Huge amount of free storage and a social network in itself.
  3. Snapfish.
  4. Google Photos.
  5. Prime Photos from Amazon.
  6. Dropbox.
  7. Microsoft OneDrive.
  8. Ever.

Can anyone see my Google Photos? The only way someone can access your photos in Google Photos is if you choose to share them with that person. But keep in mind that when you share a picture with someone, Google Photos sends them a link.

Should I use Google Photos or iCloud?

Using iCloud will mean your images can sync across iPhone, iPad and Mac devices, with all the enhanced functionality that Apple’s Photos apps offer, including the option to optimize your device’s storage. But if some or all of your devices are not made by Apple, Google Photos is the clear winner.

What is the difference between Google Photos and Apple photos?

Additionally, iCloud syncs photos across multiple devices and gobbles up acres of storage space. Alternatively, Google Photos lets you back up unfettered photo collections free of charge. iCloud still wows the hearts of many photo enthusiasts because it syncs data to the cloud automatically.

Why you should not use Google Photos?

When you use Google photos, then many of your images will contain hidden data, embedded into the files, that discloses the time and exact location the photo was taken, the device you were using, even the camera settings. Google admits it pulls this so-called EXIF data into its analytics machine.

What is the difference between Google Photos and photos on my iPhone?

In the Apple Photos app, you need to open the Settings on your phone and go to Photos. Then turn the toggle on for iCloud Photos. There’s another difference between the two. In Google Photos, the existing images on the Google Photos cloud automatically sync to your iPhone even if Back up and sync is disabled.

Will deleting photos from iCloud delete from Google Photos?

If you turn off iCloud before deleting photos from Google Photos on iPhone, then the photo will be removed from your device and Google Photos. It will stay on iCloud. However, if you enable iCloud again on the same phone, the photo will be removed from it too.

What’s the difference between Google Photos and photos?

The primary distinction of Google Photos is its backup feature. This ensures you won’t lose important pictures if you misplace your device or upgrade to a new one. While you can use both Google Photos and your built-in gallery app at the same time, you have to choose one as the default.

Do photos stay on phone if deleted from Google Photos?

In short: The photos you see in the Google-app are the same photos as on your phone – no duplicates which need to be deleted, unless the bad ones.

Is Google Photos better than iCloud? Using iCloud will mean your images can sync across iPhone, iPad and Mac devices, with all the enhanced functionality that Apple’s Photos apps offer, including the option to optimize your device’s storage. But if some or all of your devices are not made by Apple, Google Photos is the clear winner.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment