Does deleting a user on Mac delete files?

by Alexander A.

Yes, deleting a user on a Mac will delete all files associated with that user. This is because when a user is deleted, their home folder is also deleted. The home folder contains all of the user’s files and folders..

Why does it take so long to delete a user on Mac?

Why does it take so long to delete a user on Mac? If you get stuck while trying to delete a user account, there is a good chance that you are saving their home folder on disk image. Selection: Delete the Home Folder and press the trash icon or select Don’t Change the Home Folder if necessary.

How do I delete an administrator on my Mac without a password?

How do I remove an administrator from my Mac without a password?

  1. boot computer and hold the “apple” key and the “s” key.
  2. wait for terminal show.
  3. release keys.
  4. type without the quotes: “/sbin/mount -uaw”
  5. press enter.
  6. type without the quotes: “rm /var/db/. applesetupdone.
  7. press enter.
  8. type without the quotes: “reboot”

How long does it take to delete an admin account on Mac?

In my case it indicated a one pass random erase would take about 9 hours, and a one pass zero fill erase would take about 1 hour. Show activity on this post. One step which should be added to this list is to remove the incomplete DMG backup file of the user’s account, created by the interrupted task.

How do I deactivate an Apple ID?

Open Apple’s Data & Privacy website in a browser. If you’re not already logged in, sign into the Apple ID account you want to delete. 2. Scroll down and in the Delete your account section, click Request to delete your account.

How do you force quit a Mac?

Press these three keys together: Option, Command, and Esc (Escape). Or choose Force Quit from the Apple menu  in the upper-left corner of your screen. (This is similar to pressing Control-Alt-Delete on a PC.) Then select the app in the Force Quit window and click Force Quit.

How long does it take to delete an account Discord?

Usually, it takes 14 days for the complete deletion of your Discord account. The deletion can take up to 30 days sometimes due to some technical reasons, but it won’t take much more than that. However, once the time duration for account deletion is completed, your account will completely vanish.

Why does my Mac Say System Preferences is busy and can’t be closed?

A: Force quit the System Preferences app

Click the Apple menu located in the upper left corner of your Mac screen. Alternatively, you can press the Option, Command, and Esc (Escape) keys together. Click Force Quit. This will open the force quit window.

How do I delete an old Apple ID without the Password? Part 2: Delete Apple ID without a Password on Apple Store and iTunes

  1. On your iPhone, open Settings > iTunes & App Stores.
  2. Click on your Apple ID, then choose the Sign Out option. The Apple ID will be removed. Use a different Apple ID to sign in or create a new one, then Sign in.

What happens when I delete a user on Mac?

Deleting a Mac user account

This archives all the user’s documents and information so the user can be restored later if needed. The user’s documents and information remain and the user can be restored later if needed. The user information is deleted and the storage space is freed.

How long does it take to permanently delete Apple ID?

It takes anywhere from 5 minutes to 2 hours to delete an Apple ID. You can’t delete it immediately, and you have to wait for a message that says the deletion is complete. It takes about 10 minutes to delete an Apple ID. This is because it needs to be done through the Apple website.

How can I delete administrator account?

How to Delete an Administrator Account in Settings

  1. Click the Windows Start button. This button is located in the lower-left corner of your screen.
  2. Click on Settings.
  3. Then choose Accounts.
  4. Select Family & other users.
  5. Choose the admin account you want to delete.
  6. Click on Remove.
  7. Finally, select Delete account and data.

How do I return my Mac to factory settings?

If you haven’t upgraded already, it’s easiest to factory reset a Mac that’s running Monterey.

  1. Make a fresh backup of your Mac.
  2. Open System Preferences.
  3. Click System Preferences in the menu bar > Erase All Contents and Settings.
  4. Follow the prompts to fully erase your Mac.

Does deleting Apple ID delete iCloud?

Does erase all content and settings remove Apple ID? I just erased and reset to factory settings our two iPhones because we got new 5’s. I gave the phones away only to be told by a friend that the erase all content and settings doesn’t remove the apple ID from the device.

How do I delete an old Apple ID without the password? Part 2: Delete Apple ID without a Password on Apple Store and iTunes

  1. On your iPhone, open Settings > iTunes & App Stores.
  2. Click on your Apple ID, then choose the Sign Out option. The Apple ID will be removed. Use a different Apple ID to sign in or create a new one, then Sign in.

What does deleting Apple ID do?

What happens when you delete a user?

Quick tip: Deleting a user from your Windows 10 machine will permanently delete all of their associated data, documents, and more. If needed, ensure the user has a backup of any important files they want to keep before you delete.

How do I wipe a managed Macbook Pro?

How to Erase All Content and Settings on Mac

  1. Click the Apple () symbol in the menu bar and select System Preferences.
  2. When the preferences pane appears, select System Preferences -> Erase All Content and Settings from the menu bar.
  3. Enter your admin password in the Erase Assistant dialog prompt and click OK.

How do I delete users?

Delete a user account

  1. Open the Activities overview and start typing Users.
  2. Click Users to open the panel.
  3. Press Unlock in the top right corner and type in your password when prompted.
  4. Select the user that you want to delete and press the – button, below the list of accounts on the left, to delete that user account.

What happens if you delete an administrator account?

What will happen if I delete administrator account? If you delete the administrator account, you will no longer be able to log in to the computer. You will need to create a new administrator account if you want to log in again.

How do I delete user data?

Replies (4) 

  1. Press Windows Key+I to open Settings.
  2. Click on Accounts.
  3. Click on Family & other people.
  4. Under Other users, select the account to delete.
  5. Click Remove.
  6. Click Delete account and data.

How do I delete an administrator?

How to Delete an Administrator Account in Settings

  1. Click the Windows Start button. This button is located in the lower-left corner of your screen.
  2. Click on Settings.
  3. Then choose Accounts.
  4. Select Family & other users.
  5. Choose the admin account you want to delete.
  6. Click on Remove.
  7. Finally, select Delete account and data.

Can you factory reset a locked IMAC?

First you’ll need to turn off your Mac. Then press the power button and immediately hold down the Control and R keys until you see the Apple logo or spinning globe icon. Release the keys and shortly afterwards you should see the macOS Utilities window appear.

How do I reset my Mac to factory settings without password? How do you factory reset a locked MacBook?

  1. Restart your computer: hold the power button > select Restart when it appears.
  2. While the computer restarts, hold down the ‘Command’ and ‘R’ keys.
  3. Once you see the Apple logo appear, release the ‘Command and R keys’
  4. When you see a Recovery Mode menu, select Disk Utility.

Can I delete my Apple ID and make a new one with the same email?

Yes, you can delete your Apple ID and create a new one with the same email. However, you will need to make sure that all of your devices are synced with iCloud before deleting your account. This way, you won’t lose any of your data.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment